Remember that time I tore my pants during rehearsal?

Tonight was the first big blocking rehearsal for Godspell. I had the cast to myself, and didn’t have to share them with the music director and choreographer, so I was able to get a lot accomplished.

If you’re familiar with the show, you’ll know that blocking can be tricky because the script is more of an outline than an actual script. If you’re not familiar, suffice it to say that I’m not lying. Much of the dialogue is meant to be changed or adapted by the director and the cast. Many of the cast members have never seen the show before and were initially confused by the loose format. Gradually, they picked up on the improvisation that the script allows for. By the end of the three hour rehearsal, we had all had a lot of fun, and we got through about 1/6 of the show.

Somewhere in the craziness of all the improvisation that was taking place, I kicked my leg up and tore the butt of my jeans to shreds. I had a tiny hole in one of the legs, and I guess I pulled it at the right angle, and everything tore. I told the cast that these are going to be my new rehearsal pants, so they better get used to it.

I’m just sitting here in my torn pants, exhausted. (Whose idea was it to rehearse until 10 PM?)

On a different note, I began grad school today. I’m beginning work on a masters of library and information science with a specialization in school library media. People never seem to know what that means, so I just say it’s the master’s degree you need to be a librarian.

Well, I better get up and get my holey rear end settled for the night.

Leave a Reply

